play phone device-mobile location2 search plus dash down_arrow cross chevron-down chevron-up chevron-left calendar device-camera

Customer reviews of Sm Car Sales

At Sm Car Sales we pride ourselves on the great service we provide to all of our customers. We understand that buying a car can be a daunting prospect, so we strive to make the buying process as simple and hassle-free as possible.

But don't just take our word for it, see what some of our customers have to say about us...

Write a review

Sm Car Sales

Sm Car Sales
5
4.3

Based on 19 customer reviews

Powered by


  • 5

    Dangerous

    By Sarah N on 17 May 2022 | Purchase not verified

    I feel I need to write another review about this dealership to tell you not to buy from them. Please read the bad reviews. They are selling cars that are dangerous and will probably cause a very serious accident to someone. I am not the only person who is concerned about this. They charged me £300 to pick my faulty car up so they could fix it and it still came back with faults. They kept it long enough for the warranty to run out and was told I would get another 3 months which I never got. I didn't get any paperwork for the work that was supposedly done and now over £4000 out of pocket.


  • 5

    BE WARY

    By Anthony B on 24 January 2022 | Purchase not verified

    I have learned a lot from SM Cars about buying cars from dealers. Look at the reviews on both the dealer website and the Car Dealer Reviews website and dig deep. Overall ratings are deceptive. Look for the times when things go badly wrong. Judging by the reviews, which I read too late, I was by no means the first to experience the true nature of SM Cars customer service. It took me 5 weeks to get my money back on a Honda Jazz with faults, which gave me the automatic right to a full refund under Consumer Rights legislation. However, it cost me £70 for an MOT test, which failed on the brakes and listed seven advisories and an estimated cost for rectifying all faults at over £1,700. This didn’t include the main problem with the brakes, as the Garage was unable to remove the wheels for a full inspection because the locking nut key was wrong for the car. Check the MOT history on the Government website. In my case, the car came with a clean MOT but earlier MOTs showed a history of neglect and faults that had apparently reoccurred or were never remedied. On first viewing, SM Cars said the battery had been flat and I noticed a potential rear brake problem. I was assured that these problems would be investigated and fixed if necessary, but neither were. I was foolish enough to accept a fully charged battery and a clean MOT as evidence that all was OK. The car drove beautifully driving it home but the faults became fully apparent the following day. It was then that the true standard of SM Cars customer care became patently clear. I declined signing a declaration that I wouldn’t post anything on social media or reviews. The car appeared on sale again with a glowing description and another clean MOT.


  • 5

    Seem like a good company.

    By Allan W on 12 October 2021 | Purchase not verified

    They really looked after me. Car was all they said and they went the extra mile. Brought it to me for a test drive. Helped me out a few weeks later when the battery went flat.


  • 5

    Disappointing car, disappointing service

    By Anonymous on 09 October 2021 | Purchase not verified

    I bought a car that was advertised as 'well maintained'. As I am not local, I was sold an extended warranty that I could claim against using a local garage. Unfortunately within the first few weeks, a window failed, the transmission cable failed and a coil spring broke. All were not covered under the warranty as 'they had not been properly maintained' either because the wrong parts were used or they were not replaced as per the maintenance schedule. SM Car Sales refused to address any of the issues as I did not return the car to them for repairs - which they knew I could not easily do - and why I bought the warranty at additional cost.


  • 5

    By Anonymous on 04 July 2021 | Purchase not verified

    i brought a mazda 2 about 4 months ago from this company, at which time they put it through an MOT so it came with the full 12 months MOT, very disappointed, service was very good until i had a problem with the car, just after the 3 months warranty had run out, one of my back wheels buckled, i had the RAC out to look at it, they said the back axal was badly corroded and in his opinion would have been badly corroded at the time the MOT took place, also i had an independent mechanic look at it with the same conclusion, it wasn't even on the advisory and in my opinion could have been very dangerous if the wheel had buckled and collapsed whilst driving a bit faster, i did speak to SM motors company requesting that as a good will gesture could they pay half of the repair cost, they wanted me to have it towed back up to them ,which they are in their rights to do so, I am in Leicester and they are in Lancaster, I told them it would cost me too much for it to be towed up there and offered to send them the report from the RAC and pictures as proof of the corrosion but they refused which is of course their right to do but it would have been in my opinion a fair thing to do.


  • 5

    First class service - couldn't be happier.

    By Steve L on 27 September 2020 | Purchase not verified

    Couldn't have asked for better service. Emailed late Thursday evening, reply received first thing Friday morning. Did the deal, car was here Saturday evening (and it was delivered a long way) - went well above and beyond. Car was as described, service was first class, couldn't have asked for a better experience and would have no hesitation either recommending these guys or buying another car myself.


  • 5

    So happy with my Mini Cooper SD !!!

    By Katy R on 19 August 2020 | Purchase not verified

    Absolute 5 star service from start to finish !!! Very polite and answered all my questions. Great communication between putting down a deposit and collecting my new car. Very laid back no pushy sales that made me feel comfortable. Took the car for a test drive and had all the time needed to look at the car. Jamie helped me to tax the car, so much easier. Jamie also went through warranty options and found the best deal for me. Treated with respect. Would highly recommend this dealer. Thank you sm car sales...


  • 5

    No hesitation in recommending SM Cars.

    By Norman H on 26 June 2020 | Purchase not verified

    I've had 2 excellent cars from SM. Not only that, they also went out of their way to help me with a DVLA issue of my own making. Highly recommended.


  • 5

    A good car buying experience

    By Steve S on 29 May 2020 | Purchase not verified

    First class service from Jamie from start to finish. Highly recommended.


‹ Prev Next ›